Maria Jastrzębska

August 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

Interview with Maria Jastrzębska by Agata Sematovic.

A-Gender – Author Page

1. To  start  with  I  would  like  to  ask  you  for  how  long  have  you  been  writing?

I’ve  been  writing  ever  since  I  can  remember.  Even  before  I  could  read  or  write  I  ‘wrote’  as  a  child.  I’m  not  entirely  sure  why  I  chose  poetry,  perhaps  it  chose  me.

2. Have  you  ever  considered  writing  something  except  poetry?

When  I  was  first  writing  I  didn’t  think  of  myself  primary  as  a  poet  and  I  tried  my  hand  at  some  short  stories.  At  some  point  poetry  took  over  and  now  I  am  mainly  a  poet.  Although  I  have  written  a  play/literary  drama  which  came  out  of  some  prose  poems.  I’ve  also  written  prose  poems  and  am  interested  in  the  border  between  prose  and  poetry.  I  also  started  translating  poetry  a  few  years  ago  and  got  hooked  on  that.  Plus  I’ve  worked  as  an  editor  and  enjoyed  that.

3. What  was  the  most  affective  poem  you  read  that  made  an  influence  on  your  writing?

At  school  I  remember  reading  Walter  de  la  Mare – softly  silently  now  the  moon…  – I  loved  the  sounds  and  the  images.  Then  a  bit  later  I  discovered  poets  like  Herbert  and  Yevtushenko  and  also  there  was  Plath.

4. Yes,  Plath  makes  an  influence  on  everybody.  Considering  the  publication  of  your  work  what  was  the  first  poem  you  had  published?

I  can’t  exactly  remember  but  my  early  work  was  published  in  feminist  journals  and  magazines  such  as  Spinster,  Spare  Rib,  Writing  Women  etc.  It  didn’t  occur  to  me  to  send  anywhere  else  and  I  felt  alienated  from  the  male  dominated  cannon.

5. Maria,  tell  me  please  what  is  your  favorite  form  or  mode  of  poetry  to  write?  

I  tend  to  write  free  verse  poems  but  I  also  enjoy  trying  out  other  things.  Recently  I  had  a  go  at  terza  rima  and  I  can  tell  you  it  was  hard.  But  I  had  great  fun  during  it.

6. As  a  poet  what  do  you  enjoy  the  most  in  poetry?

I  find  writing  poetry  both  empowering  and  magical.  The  transformation  of  raw  material.  I  love  how  you  can  surprise  yourself  while  writing.  I  love  the  puzzle  of  trying  to  make  a  poem  come  out  in  the  right  shape  or  sound.  It’s  so  exciting.

7. Do  you  have  any  regrets?

I  wish  I  started  taking  myself  seriously  as  a  writer  sooner  and  had  had  the  time  and  money  to  do  so.  In  a  way  it  took  a  long  illness  to  make  me  see  I  needed  to  be  writing  more.

8. I  think  this  is  a  common  question  which  is  asked  quite  often  but  I’m  sure  lot  of  people  is  wondering  where  do  you  find  you  motivation  or  from  whom?

I  have  some  really  good  poetry  buddies  and  that  helps  to  keep  me  going.  I’m  also  fortunate  enough  to  have  been  and  to  be  mentored  by  some  fabulous  poets.  I  still  carry  on  going  to  writing  workshops  and  both  like  and  need that  stimulus.

9. That’s  great.  Do  you  have  any  specific  poets  that  made  an  impact  on  your  writing?

Poets  I  read  when  I  was  growing  up  made  a  massive  impact.  The  series  ‘Penguin  Modern  European  Poets’  was  wonderful  back  then.  Also  lots  of  poets  in  translation  eg.  Tua  Forstromm.  There  are  also  some  non-poets  like  Toni  Morrison  etc.

10. How  much does  publishability  affect  what  you  write?

It’s  hard  to  say.  You’re  certainly  aware  of  it  as  a  poet  and  of  course  there’s  a  pressure  to  have  a  continuous  ‘profile’,  which  is  time-consuming.  Sometimes  you  worry  about  it  and  other  times  you  say  ‘what  the  hell’.

11. When  and  where  do  you  write?  

Generally  I  write  in  my  room  which  is  a  cross  between  bedroom  and  study.  Also  when  I’m  traveling.  The  newness  of  a  place  makes  you  look  at  things  differently.  I  also  can  start  writing  in  the  middle  of  the  night.  Like  everyone  else  I  really  value  having  uninterrupted  time.  I  like  to  walk  and  think  as  well.  Living  by  the  see  is  good  for  me.  Being  in  nature  has  always  helped  to  keep  me  sane.

12. The  next  question  I’m  about  to  ask  is  probably  the  one  what  all  writers  ask  themselves.  How  do  you  avoid  clichés?

You  can’t – they  have  to  come  out.  The  trick  is  to  spot  them  and  then  weed  them  out.  Sometimes  you  can’t  see  them  yourself  so  it  helps  to  have  good  experienced  readers  and  editors.  The  more  you  read  the  better  you  get  at  it.  You  think  you’re  being  highly  original  but  actually  a  hundred  other  contributors  to  the  journal  you’re  submitting  to  have  come  up  with  the  same  image!

13. At  what  point  do  you  decide  that  a  given  poem  is  finished?

Hmmmm… sometimes  if  there’s  a  deadline  for  submission  so  I  have  to  send  it  out,  usually  once  it’s  been  published  somewhere,  but  even  then…  Or  when  you’re  so  sick  of  it  you  can’t  bear  to  look  at  it  anymore!

14. Regarding  the  ‘I’ll  be  back  before  you  know  it’  poem,  can  you  retrace  your  thought  process  when  writing  this  poem?

I  think  I  had  recently  been  to  Warsaw  and  visited  a  dear  old  friend  of  my  father’s  so  that  was  in  my  mind – about  their  youth  together.  I’m  also  interested  in  the  juxtaposition  of  present  and  past.  Well,  juxtaposition  generally  but  that  one  in  particular.

15. How  about  your  ‘Woman  Warrior’  poem?  How  did  you  bring  the  idea  and  inspiration  in  this  poem?

This  came  out  of  a  correspondence  with  the  editor  of  Mustn’t  Grumble,  an  anthology  published  by  the  Women’s  Press.  We  had  a  whole  discussion  about  grief  and  anger  in  writing  about  disability  which  appears  in  the  book.  I  was  disabled  by  a  chronic  illness  ME  which  I  had  for  many  years  at  that  time.  I  had  been  a  Women’s  Self  Defence  teacher  for  many  years  before  and  had  an  awful  lot  invested  in  my  physical  strength  and  prowess.  It  was  very  tough  for  me  to  come  to  terms  with  losing  that  and  I  was  hugely  aware  of  how  society  marginalises  anyone  who  isn’t  seen  as  normal/healthy/productive  etc.  In  others  the  illness  was  bad  enough,  social  stigma,  isolation  made  it  worse.

16. So  you’re  a  true  warrior,  Maria.  Talking  about  anger  your  poem  ‘Europa’  is  an  angry  poem,  isn’t  it?  Do  you  think  poetry  like  this  can  make  a  difference  in  the  21st  century?

Yes,  I  think  it’s  important  to  remember  the  past,  especially  some  of  the  more  overlooked  things – I’m  thinking  of  the  persecution  of  gay  and  ‘socially  deviant’  people  in  the  Third  Reich  for  example,  so  I  hope  it  makes  a  difference  that  I  write  about  it.

17. And  finally,  I  would  like  to  ask  what  advice  you  would  give  young  writers  to  encourage them  to  write  poetry?

Cross  many  borders,  literal  and  non-literal,  external  and  internal.  Take  risks.  Talk  to  people.  Open  your  heart.  Read  loads  and  read  aloud.  Avoid  ivory  towers.  Play.  Go  dancing.  Work  your  socks  off  and  most  importantly  never  give  up.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maria Jastrzębska at I Don't Call Myself a Poet.

meta

